-b

I don't want your money

Money, it's a gas

I've often played mobile games where you can only truly progress if you spend some cash. Usually, I won't spend any money, but sometimes I've been foolish and spent some. I ended up uninstalling these games because they didn't mean much to me.

Premium accounts and options claim to offer you a much better experience, but one thing many have in common is they'll include options that should be free regardless. What even is a Twitter Premium? What kind of premium can you get from an overhyped Sticky Notes?

Newspapers want your money. They want to make it so you can only find out the news if you spend some cash. The New York Times don't even let you fill out their crossword without getting a subscription. I use the BBC, which technically also requires a "subscription" (and don't tell Nadine Dorries about Channel 4), but those are different circumstances.

Netflix want my money, then go and put ads on there anyway, ditto Amazon who are worth trillions. It's just frustrating.

If the Bearblog people read this, please don't revolve it around the Bearblog upgrade - sure, it's £45.68 annually, but the last thing I'd want would be for money to determine who gets more views with their blog - Google's already terrible for that.