-b

Most Listened Song

Community Echoes: https://notes.jeddacp.com/songs-on-albums-i-gravitate-toward/

Jedda's post inspired me to share my most listened to tracks, and I will add why I listen/ed to them so much. These songs aren't necessarily my favourites.

  1. Kidney Bingos by Wire In the middle of their overlooked pop album A Bell is a Cup Until It Is Struck (yes that's its name) is this gem. I prefer the track before, The Boiling Boy, because its intro is perfect, but this song with Dada-like lyrics is decent too.

  2. You're So Great by Blur This is an album track from Blur's 1997 self titled. That album has Song 2 on it (the Woohoo song). You're So Great has a unique sound, Pavement-like with crackles and lofi production, and guitarist Graham Coxon delivers a heartfelt vocal which spoke to me like few songs do.

  3. It's My Life by Talk Talk At last, a chart hit. The synths are wonderful, the bass is great, and it's all around a lovely track.

  4. The 15th by Wire This one is from Wire's album 154, which I love every track from. This though is the pop hit, so is easy to continually listen to, which I have done 70 times.

  5. I Believe in You by Talk Talk This one is very different from It's My Life - all organic, heartfelt, seemingly simple in structure (repeating drums, a simple bassline, swirling music) - and the lyrics are about the singer's brother succumbing to a heroin addiction. It's beautiful and yet is possibly not the best song from its album, Spirit of Eden. A must listen.

There are other songs, like Joy Division's Disorder and Radiohead's Idioteque, which come close to the top 5. They will probably make it one day, many of the songs in the Top 5 don't speak to me as much as they did back then and my music taste continues to change.

31/31 - yay!