-b

St Ives/Taking inspiration from the nth trending post

The random number generator, from 1 to 20, gave me 13. I like that number - the excellent album by Blur a key reason for that - so I wondered what the post would be.

The post was floating in desire on Veronique's blog, and you should all read it. I happened to read the blogpost beforehand, so I'm happy this was the post I'll be taking inspiration from.

The post mentions a visit to a small town, which means this post will be about a small town.

At about 10,000 people, St Ives isn't the smallest town, indeed it's one of the larger ones in Cornwall, but it's no London. There's the classic rhyme about a man from St Ives who had seven wives, indeed it was up on a wall in the town by the lovely seafront.

You may know the town as the place where the G7 met a few years ago as well - indeed, the first time I ever went to Cornwall (so about three years ago), the roads were closed off from regular visitors. But I came this time, mostly to relax and also have fun at the local penny arcade, where I squandered all my twopennies.

The name may be derived from St Ia, who visited Cornwall in the middle of the 5th century. She lived and was buried here, and thus the town is called St Ives. There's another St Ives near Cambridge and maybe its name has a similar origin.

If you're ever going to visit St Ives, watch out for the seagulls - they love attacking ice cream and can be vicious whilst doing so - and if going by car, make sure parking's available. Otherwise, you can go by train - the local station is the one of the termini of the Great Western Railway.

This blogpost is the fourth in my attempt to blog every day - tomorrow's post is also Cornish, but is over on my main blog, All Over 2a

Thanks to Veronique for the inspiration for this miniblog - her blogpost is actually quite different to mine in certain ways, so read it too!

comments here